Labels

So I finally have my blog up and going! (sorta)  What to do next?  BLOG!!  How do you identify yourself?  Atheist, Agnostic, humanist…the list goes on.  I didn’t really choose to identify as an atheist.  Down here if you say that word most people will automatically think in their mind that you are some satanic evil doer.  So yeah that wasn’t my first choice.  I am not one for labels but that is how most people identify one another.  Male, Female, Homosexual, Heterosexual, Baptist, Methodist, Agnostic, Atheist…all are words we use to help understand each other.  There are numerous ways I identify myself-agnostic atheist, humanist, free-thinker, skeptic…but for the sake of this post I will consider myself agnostic atheist. The more I read and learn the more I find myself identifying as such. I don’t believe in a personal god and can’t force myself into believing in some man-made myth.  My views may evolve during my journey in life but for now this is where I am.  This is where I feel happy.  Feel free leave comments.  I would love to know where others are in their walk in life!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Midori Skies on November 25, 2013 - 2:56 am

    Hi.

    I just call myself an atheist most of the time. Technically I’m an agnostic atheist, but since I consider the existence of gods to be about as likely as the existence of unicorns, I usually drop the agnostic bit.

    It is really annoying that a lot of people just assume atheists are bad people, but I kinda hope that by identifiying openly and proudly and cheerfully as an atheist (and not being evil or eating babies or something), I can change at least a couple of people’s minds about that.

  2. #2 by TheRebelsAdvocate on December 21, 2013 - 4:48 pm

    I have been reading your posts and can so relate with everything you have said. I am an agnostic leaning ever so closely to being an atheist. I come from a very strict Christian background right smack dab in the middle of this good ole BIBLE BELT. Although I left the church at the age of 18, I have felt bound to it for years, mostly because I had so many questions and no one to talk to. Everyone here is either a Christian, or an admitted sinner on his way to hell (no joke) that not only believes in God, but will defend him adamantly. I felt like an alien in my own hometown. Everything I hear people saying sounded so foreign and ridiculous to me, and to even HINT that it all might be rubbish was pure blasphemy and labeled ME as the crazy one. I finally did come completely out of the agnostic closet a few months ago, and although it was extremely difficult and lonely at first, I feel so liberated now, and much more happy. Also, I have been a little shocked at the number of people that have came forward to me and admitted to having questions themselves, but were afraid to voice them with anyone else. I have now just started my own blog and I think it will also help to get a few things off my chest and to also communicate with other like minded people such as yourself. Anyhow, love the blog, and good luck in the future!
    Joe Stilwell
    http://therebelsadvocate.com/

  3. #3 by theatheistmomonline on December 23, 2013 - 3:40 pm

    Joe, thanks for checking out my blog! I have enjoyed reading your comments as well! It is extremely frustrating to have all these questions building up and no one to confide in. You have to watch what you say for fear of people thinking your some horrible monster of a person. I have always had some questions but I just ignored them. However because of events over the past few years in my life; I began to seek out the answers to my questions. Thankfully my husband was going through the same thing as well. So we began this journey together, I can definitely say it has been nice to have someone to converse with over similar thinking. I too began having a more agnostic view on life. The more I read and learn everyday the more confident I am about leaving Christianity (or any religion for that matter). I really consider myself more of an agnostic atheist. I believe life is a learning process and change is part of that too. Other than my husband, I have told a few close friends and relatives. So far I haven’t had any backlash from anyone. With that being said, I have only told people that I knew would be accepting. I feel like a huge burden has been lifted from me. I would always worry myself if I was really a Christian or not, or why I didn’t seem to feel “the presence of the lord” like so many of my church friends. Now I no longer feel like that. My heart feels so much happier and free now. I still haven’t come out to my parents. They are bible thumping, laying on of hands, praying for you type of people. I haven’t told them not because I am scared, but because I really don’t want to cause them any pain, They are going through some serious health issues and I would rather them just be happy. I know that if I told them it would devastate them. So for now I will keep my parents in their happy little bubble. In the meantime I look forward to connecting with like minded people and building some great friendships!

  4. #4 by Piobaireachd on December 27, 2013 - 7:08 pm

    I prefer “secular humanist” to “atheist” because the latter only describes what you don’t believe. The former is an actual world view that can be a useful framework for living one’s life. But yeah, in terms of my religious POV, agnostic atheist fits the bill.

Leave a Comment

