Good Reads

Call me old fashioned, but I prefer reading regular paper books rather than any type of eBook.  I know that sounds strange coming from someone in the under thirty crowd.  (I have less than a year to stake a claim in that title and I will do so down to the very last day!) There is just something about having that physical, tangible book with pages in my hand that I don’t get from an eBook.  One of my favorite pastimes is sitting on the couch, covered up with a good book to read.  That however, rarely happens in my house.  Really, who has time for that?  Like any mom, I stay pretty busy running my kids to school and to their various activities, maintaining a clean dwelling and making sure they get some kind of nourishment.  Oh and I always like to be sure they are alive and well at the end of the day.  Most of my reading time comes from the countless hours spent in the car pick up line at my son’s school.  Not the ideal setting, but hey, I will take what I can get.

Needless to say I prefer books that are quick and to the point, yet still very informative and thought-provoking.  Some sort of comedic relief goes a long way also.  No one wants to read a complete snoozefest!! Recently I finished reading Richard Dawkins’s The God Delusion.  Loved, loved, loved that book.  He explained and elaborated on several topics that I had already begun thinking about prior to picking up a copy.  Next on my list is DEconverted, by Seth Andrews.  He spent most of his life in church and was a Christian radio host at one point.  His book talks about his deconversion process and journey away from religion.  As a recovering Christian myself, I am very much looking forward to reading his story.

Any other recommended readings would be greatly appreciated!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Doobster418 on December 29, 2013 - 1:30 am

    You’re old fashioned. (Hey, I was just following your instructions.)

  2. #2 by The Atheist Mom Online on December 29, 2013 - 1:36 am

    Bahahaha!!! Ok, so I really hate to admit this but it took me a few seconds!

  3. #3 by Margaret on December 29, 2013 - 2:29 am

    http://www.amazon.ca/Why-Believed-Reflections-Former-Missionary/dp/0578003880 this was the first book I read that made me question my faith. It is by Kenneth Daniels.

    • #4 by The Atheist Mom Online on December 29, 2013 - 11:11 am

      Somehow I haven’t heard of this book but I will definitely check into it!!

  4. #5 by ubi dubium on December 29, 2013 - 9:41 am

    “Why are you Atheists So Angry? 99 Things that Piss of the Godless” – Greta Christina
    “The Selfish Gene” – Richard Dawkins
    “Why People Believe Weird Things” – Michael Shermer
    “Atheism for Dummies” – Dale McGowan (Yes, really. Dale did a splendid job on this.)
    “The Demon Haunted World” Carl Sagan
    And the books by the other three of the four horsemen: “God is Not Great” – Christopher Hitchens, “The End of Faith” and “Letter to a Christian Nation” – Sam Harris, and especially “Breaking the Spell” – Daniel Dennett.

    And for straight-out breaks of pure fun:
    All five books of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy trilogy
    “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” – Jenny Lawson (The Bloggess)
    “Hyperbole and a Half” – Allie Brosh.

    Apologies if I’m duplicating stuff you have already read. My current thing is audiobooks, so I can read something while driving. My local library has a huge collection, including a bunch of the audio college courses, so I’m either reading a classic book that I had always meant to get around to, or I’m listening to a lecture from a really good professor. (Right now I’m working on War and Peace)

    • #6 by The Atheist Mom Online on December 29, 2013 - 11:10 am

      No apologies! The list is great! I have read “God is Not Great” but I think that’s the only duplicate. I also had planned on checking out one of Sam Harris’s books in the near future so your recommendation confirms my picks. Thanks!!

  5. #7 by Chad Bunch on December 29, 2013 - 11:37 am

    I found you on Neil’s (Godless in Dixie) blog. I’ve been following him for several months and I love his writing. I commented on the last post that “Non-Believer Nation” by David Niose of the American Secularists Coalition is great. I have yet to read anything by Hitchens, but he is on my lengthy bucket list. I also prefer “real” books over e-books. I am in my local library twice a week for this reason.

  6. #8 by rayanzehn on December 29, 2013 - 12:44 pm

    I too prefer paper books. There’s nothing else like the smell of a library!

  7. #9 by Mike on December 29, 2013 - 2:37 pm

    What? You don’t have a copy of Hitchens’ “Portable Atheist” front and center on your desk? And Yes, I also have a copy on my iPad for reading wherever I might be.

  8. #10 by Mike on December 29, 2013 - 2:40 pm

    I notice more book-sniffers who prefer ink and paper books. I probably would too if I could still, in my old age, read the damnable small print used in paperbacks and such. My advice: read the book digitally in comfort and if you must, tape a bit of an old musty Steinbeck novel you found in your grandfathers basement to the back of your ear … that way you (anyone) can read the book long after the world of Gutenberg is dead and still enjoy the comforting odor of antiquity.

    Perhaps Apple or Amazon will take heed of this objection to digital readers and add a small button which ejects a spray exactly duplicating the fragrance of old books and printers ink (this idea is from “Green Acres” but originally involved artificial Christmas trees).

  9. #11 by The Atheist Mom Online on December 29, 2013 - 10:10 pm

    Glad to see I am not the only one that prefers paper books to eBooks!

    Chad, Hitchens’ “God is Not Great” was actually the first book I read as I began to question everything I had been raised to believe as truth. At the time I thought it was a bit abrasive; however, I think that was due to the strict indoctrination I received growing up. His book gave me a glimpse into the other side of religion that I had failed to see. It was a rude, but much needed, awakening for me. You should check it out sometime and see what ya think!

    • #12 by Chad Bunch on January 1, 2014 - 8:13 pm

      Thanks for the advice. I will move it up on the “list”. Happy New Year.

  10. #13 by Skeeter on January 2, 2014 - 10:23 am

    One of the first books to really affect my thinking was Leaving the Fold by Marlene Winell. Her gentle compassion is obvious throughout the book. I highly recommend it.

Leave a Comment

