Boy Scouts Are Gay

As of today the Boy Scouts of America will start allowing openly gay boys into their organization.  A huge win for equal rights activists and an epic fail for the conservative right.  What does this mean for existing scouts and their families?

Much to my surprise, this news comes as almost a non-event for the local pack that my son is involved in.  Perhaps this little corner of America is finally catching up to the rest!  We have around 50 scouts in our pack and I can proudly say that I haven’t heard of one family leaving the organization yet.  What’s even better, is that the local church which carries our charter hasn’t broken ties with the scouts.  We are in the process of re-chartering and so far everything seems to be going smoothly.

Unfortunately, I have heard of a handful of families leaving other local packs.  This is truly sad for the boys.  For anyone not involved in scouting, it’s hard to understand the amount of time and hard work the boys put into earning their various badges and patches.  They learn numerous skills, build strong friendships and experience so much in the world.  If parents are going to remove their boys from BSA, then they should probably go ahead and remove little Johnny from all sports and start homeschooling while they’re at it.

I don’t understand this “stay away from the gays” mentality people have.  Don’t parents understand that they are doing their child a disservice by keeping them in the closet?  They are teaching their kids that it’s ok to avoid people who are different from themselves.

I for one, want to raise my children to be strong independent thinkers.  I want to raise them to feel comfortable around all types of people.  Most importantly, I want my children to appreciate and love all of humankind.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Piobaireachd on January 5, 2014 - 1:52 pm

    That’s encouraging to hear. I’m really heartened by the rate of change on this issue (for a good look at the data on this issue see http://fivethirtyeight.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/03/26/how-opinion-on-same-sex-marriage-is-changing-and-what-it-means/) over the past 20 years or so and particularly when it starts looking a little “meh” in the South. I’ve been a southern expat now for 23 years and my only real connections for a long time were my evangelical relatives and they didn’t paint a very pretty picture for me. However, in the age of social media, it’s been great to see how many of my hold mates have turned out and by and large, they’re a live and let live bunch. There are defo exceptions, but in the main, they’re kinda progressive on many social issues even if they aren’t so on fiscal ones.

    I suspect that the skeptic movement will enjoy a similar trajectory b/c it all comes down to knowing someone that you respect being in the out group. My views of gay folks changed quite a bit once I met some and got on famously with them. When I was in the Army, I several of my friends had similar epiphanies… “gay” stopping being an abstract concept. I think now that so many folks can get online and see that there are other folks out there that think like them, they will drop the facade and then their friends and relatives will have to re-evaluate their positions on the subject. It’ll take some time, but I’ll wager that we’ll see similar trends. Perhaps Silver is already collecting the data on this one.

    Thanks for taking the time to put your thoughts out there. Happy New Year!!

Leave a Comment

